‘Barren’

I like you best when you’re furthest away

Bubbling over some happy memory

Living through him and through him and through him

 

Because with me

You’re spider limbs and signal flares

A desert fire off the I-5

Latching on and lashing out

Ripping pale ocean skin off my powerful frame

 

So I’ll stand sturdy tall

And drag you along

Through your desert plains, turning shrub to ash

Til we reach a stream, where I throw you over

To continue your pillage

 

Rest my body in the mud

Watch red grow through eyelids

And feel the burns heal

In the comforting cool of water,

 

Life itself.

Leave a Reply

